Astros Set 2021 Opening Day Roster

The Houston Astros have set their 26-man Opening Day roster, which includes 13 pitchers and 13 position players. The announcement was made by Astros General Manager James Click.

Six Astros players are appearing on an Opening Day roster for the first time in their respective careers: OF Yordan Alvarez, RHP Brandon Bielak, RHP Luis Garcia, IF Robel García, OF Chas McCormick, RHP José Urquidy. 

Per 2021 Major League rules, clubs can carry 26 players on their active MLB rosters through August 31. On September 1, the roster limit expands to 28 players. Prior to Sept. 1, clubs can carry a 27th player for doubleheaders.

Today, the Astros also announced the five-player taxi-squad for the first road trip. The Astros open the 2021 Championship Season in Oakland tonight (9:07 p.m. CT) for the first of a four-game series. They will then visit Anaheim for a two-game series vs. the Angels, April 5-6. The Astros Home Opener will be on Thursday, April 8 vs. the A’s at 7:10 p.m. CT. Hear all the action on your home for Astros baseball, SportsTalk790!

To finalize their Opening Day roster, the Astros made several roster moves, optioning LHP Kent Emanuel, RHP Jake Odorizzi, C Garrett Stubbs and IF Abraham Toro. Additionally, four players were officially placed on the 10-day IL, retro to March 29: RHP Josh James, RHP Austin Pruitt, RHP Andre Scrubb, LHP Framber Valdez.

Astros 2021 OPENING DAY ROSTER and taxi squad


Abreu, Bryan

Bielak, Brandon

Garcia, Luis

Greinke, Zack

Javier, Cristian

McCullers Jr., Lance

Paredes, Enoli

Pressly, Ryan

Raley, Brooks

Smith, Joe

Stanek, Ryne

Taylor, Blake

Urquidy, José


Castro, Jason

Maldonado, Martín


Altuve, Jose

Bregman, Alex

Correa, Carlos

Díaz, Aledmys

García, Robel

Gurriel, Yuli


Alvarez, Yordan

Brantley, Michael

McCormick, Chas

Straw, Myles

Tucker, Kyle


Garza Jr., Ralph - RHP

Rodriguez, Nivaldo - RHP

Solomon, Peter - RHP

Stubbs, Garrett - C

Toro, Abraham - IF


The Astros have won eight consecutive season openers (2013-20), which is the longest active streak in the Majors and just one win shy of matching the modern MLB record. Since 1900, four clubs have won nine straight season openers. The most recent were the Seattle Mariners, who won nine straight from 2007-15 (source: Elias). The Orioles were the last club to win eight straight season openers (2011-18).