Retired Texans WR Andre Johnson a semifinalist for Hall of Fame

Retired Texans Pro Bowl wide receiver Andre Johnson is among 26 semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022 along with former Texans and New England Patriots Pro Bowl nose tackle Vince Wilfork.

The Hall of Fame names its 15 finalists in December before final balloting for the incuctees that's announced prior to Super Bowl LVI.

Johnson, 40, is joinedby former Oilers and Titans running back Eddie George, as a first-time semifinalist along with Anquan Boldin, Steve Smith, DeMarcus Ware and Devin Hester. 

The other semifinalists include: Sam Mills, Richard Seymour, Zach Thomas, Fred Taylor, Ricky Watters, Reggie Wayne, Torry Holt, Hines Ward, Tony Boselli, Willie Anderson, Eric Allen, Ronde Barber, LeRoy Butler, Darren Woodson, Patrick Willis, Jared Allen, Bryce Young and Steve Tasker.

Johnson was named to seven Pro Bowls and is the only player in the Texans' Ring of Honor. He leads the franchise in every major receiving category and finished his career with 1,012 receptions, 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns.

The former first-round draft pick from Miami, selected by the Texans third overall in 2003, ranks 11th all-time in the NFL in receiving yards and catches.

He was named All-Pro five times.

Aaron Wilson has covered the NFL for 20 seasons, including the Texans, Baltimore Ravens, Tennessee Titans and Jacksonville Jaguars. He has previously written for The Houston Chronicle and The Baltimore Sun. He’s on Twitter: @AaronWilson_NFL and Instagram: @aaronwilson7128.

Houston Texans v Denver Broncos

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content